Adoption Day

I walked out into the morning sun after work today very tired but excited at the same time. Today was adoption day for my little friend that I blogged about a few days ago.  I have not been apart of an adoption hearing before and thus had no idea what to expect. The entire process was to be a heart warming experience that I know will have a wonderful place in my heart for the rest of my life.

The process to adopt a child is not quick and there are literally miles of red tape, the actual hearing is but a mere formality and a opportunity for all parties concerned to rejoice. The hearing was over actually in just a few minutes and then it was photo time, pictures with everyone from the Judge to the case workers and of course my little friend.

It is one thing to conceive a child and give birth, but to choose a child not of your body and offer them the same love and care is another matter entirely. To those who choose to foster children who have nothing or anyone to call their own, I praise you for your selflessness, love and compassion.

My little friend has not only a new mother but a brother as well, yes today was a mere formality in the process, they have long since become a family, but to see her name with the state seal attached, to view the adoption documents, it has really stuck home with me. I am so truly blessed to have been asked to be a part of todays hearing.

No matter how tired I was after working 14 hours, I have become energized and I am very happy.

There is a party to celebrate this weekend, I am looking forward to seeing the children play and once again my little friend will get to ride the ice cream churn, she has made sure to remind me that it is her job and I would have it no other way!

Adoption Day, how awesome!

Come On Say Something!

